More Than You Can Imagine


I love the book of Ephesians.  One thing I like about it is that Paul prays some amazing prayers for the people he was fathering in the faith.  One such prayer happens at the end of chapter 3:

For this reason I kneel before the Father, 15 from whom his whole family in heaven and on earth derives its name. 16 I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being,17 so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, 18 may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, 19 and to know this love that surpasses knowledge–that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.

In this majestic prayer, Paul prays that the Holy Spirit my dwell in us and cause us to treasure Christ in our hearts, that we might have faith and a relationship with the Son of God (16-17)  And, being rooted in that love, that our eyes might be opened even more to the fact that God’s love is greater than just what we experience, but that it fills all things, not even the dimensions of creation (width, length, hight, and depth) can hold His love.  Paul wants us to be astounded by and filled with awe and warmth by the awesome power and love of God.

Then he ends with this rousing doxology,

20 Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, 21 to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

Paul wants our wonders to overflow into praise of the great and awesome God who has loved us so deeply.

recently, verse 2o has been speaking into my heart, That God “is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine.”  As I try to live for him and as we continue to move forward in church planting, I remember that God is able to do far more than we can possibly dream.  His love is greater than the dimensions of this world.  He has a greater passion and desire to reach the lost than any of us do.  He has greater love for anyone I’m trying to reach than we do as well.

As we’re trying to forge relationships, show love, and share the Gospel, I’ve been keeping this in mind.  While I pray for specific things, I remember that his love, his plans, his desire to save are greater than mine.  So every conversation and at every transition in my day, I pray,

You can do so much more than I can possibly ask or imagine.  So surprise me, Lord!  Astound me with your love.  Amaze me with your power at work in me.  Show up in a way that I do not expect and work awesome things to your glory and to the salvation of many.” 

This week our glorious and great God has done some amazing things.  He’s done way more than I’ve been praying for.  He’s done way more than I had expected.  Trust him in all that you do, and look for his power at work.

Pictures found here and here

About Ted Torreson

I'm a Husband, Father, Pastor & Church planter

Posted on August 2, 2012, in Christian Living, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Ted,
    Thanks for stopping by my blog and glad that you enjoyed what I shared. I enjoyed reading what you share and pray along with you; “Heavenly Father who loves us more than we can ever imagine, surprise us with your awesome love! Blessings,
    Sparky Laurie

Leave a Reply

Pastor James Hein's Blog

Crossing my mind. Mind on the cross.

Family Friendly Faith

May God use these pages to bless, encourage and strengthen you.

Sweet Rains

"He sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust." (Matt. 5:45)

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Faith In Motion

Thoughts on life in light of the Gospel

Provocations & Pantings

Trusting God :: Treasuring Christ :: Triumphing the Gospel

TRANSFORMINGstory

Positively Living Life & Sharing Faith

docshawn

love. serve. lead

multiply

Following Jesus' Command to Make Disciples

JORDAN ELDER

helping others move forward toward Christ, community, and mission

Nate Navarro

love God. love people. don't go alone.

#KingdomCome

Help wanted: Desperate sinners transformed by Jesus to start a revolution. Inquire within.

The Tentmaker Blog

Using paid employment for Kingdom ministry

khamneithang

instigating a life, one story at a time...

Joewulf

Learning to believe and journey toward Jesus

SoulThirst Church

Saturating the world with the astounding love and truth of the Savior King

KPB Stevens

Fiction, Nonfiction, and More

Plasso

Spontaneous acts of controlled synesthesia

Missional Church Planting

a misson alive blog

