Please Don’t Teach Your Kids About Santa


St. Nicholas from an ancient mosaic in Turkey

With Thanksgiving out of the way we threw out the goards and pumpkins, packed up the fall decorations, cut down a tree, and started decorating the house in green, red, and gold.  The reason is obvious, Christmas is coming.  I was at walmart the other day and saw an 8-10 foot blow up raindeer, which I actually kinda like.  Yet most of what I saw was Santa Claus themed.  More and more we see an addition to the Santa Myth with the Elf on the Shelf stuff as well.

Last year I shared, Why I Won’t Be Teaching My Children About Santa Claus.  I see way to many Christian kids more focused on Santa and “his” gifts than on Jesus and His Gift.  I’ve got nothing against watching Christmas movies that involve Santa.  I liked, Tim Allen’s, The Santa Clause movies.  I loved, Will Ferrell’s Elf.  I enjoy the Grinch and Frosty Movies.  Yet as I watch some of these with my Daughter, Areli, I’ll let her know that they’re pretend.  Even now, at a year and a half, I’m teaching her that we’re decorating everything because we’re celebrating Jesus’ Birthday.  You won’t find a Santa in our house, because we’re celebrating Jesus and no other.

I will be teaching my daughter, however, about the real St. Nicholas.  We’ll be reading to her, Saint Nicholas: The Real Story of the Christmas Legend, and as she get’s older we’ll watch St. Nichola of Myra as well, so my daughter will know who the real Santa Claus really is.  I want her to know that St. Nick  was really a great defender of the Christian Faith and showed love to children because of the love he had seen in Jesus.

Parent’s if you share Santa with you kids, which is hard to avoid, make sure you don’t describe him as a God like person who is all-powerful and all-knowing.  Don’t credit him with the gifts you worked hard to provide.  Don’t decorate you houses in Santa’s image.  Rather, share with you children how Christmas is all about Jesus.  Put a nativity as the focal point to your Christmas decoration.  Teach your children who St. Nicholas really was, so that there is no confusion.  And then enjoy all the fun holiday stuff with you kids knowing what is true and what is make-beleive.

Resources

Information on the real Saint Nicholas.

Video The Real St. Nick from Lutheran Hour Ministries

St. Nicholas Films

Picture found here

See also: Why I Won’t Be Teaching My Children About Santa Claus

About Ted Torreson

I'm a Husband, Father, Pastor & Church planter

Posted on November 26, 2012, in Christian Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Greetings, Pastor, I have two grown daughters now, both married who knew Santa never left them a present. I got a lot of heat at work, when my buddies found out, but it was all worth it. My eldest daughter has two children and they know why they’re celebrating Christmas. My granddaughter especially has a special love for Jesus, (she is only 8) and I honestly believe it is because Jesus is emphasized in my daughter’s family rather than worldly sources like Santa etc.

    I’ve made many mistakes while parenting my daughters, but leaving Santa out wasn’t one of them.

    Lord bless you and your efforts to raise up a church in his Name,

    Eddie

  2. http://www.amazon.com/Nicholas-Boy-Who-Became-Santa/dp/B000A0GXOC/ref=sr_1_1?s=movies-tv&ie=UTF8&qid=1354114616&sr=1-1&keywords=nicholas+the+boy+who+became+santa

    Here’s another good St. Nick video. We did do Santa, but with an emphasis on St. Nick. He still comes around on his feast day , December 6th, and leaves a little candy and a reminder to keep the focus on Jesus. Also, check out my post on our alternative to the Elf on the Shelf.

    • I saw your post. I like the playfulness of moving around the wisemen. It would be kinda cool to move them from one end of the house towards the nativity throughout Advent, like they’re traveling to see the Christ Child.

Leave a Reply

Pastor James Hein's Blog

Crossing my mind. Mind on the cross.

Family Friendly Faith

May God use these pages to bless, encourage and strengthen you.

Sweet Rains

"He sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust." (Matt. 5:45)

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Faith In Motion

Thoughts on life in light of the Gospel

Provocations & Pantings

Trusting God :: Treasuring Christ :: Triumphing the Gospel

TRANSFORMINGstory

Positively Living Life & Sharing Faith

docshawn

love. serve. lead

multiply

Following Jesus' Command to Make Disciples

JORDAN ELDER

helping others move forward toward Christ, community, and mission

Nate Navarro

love God. love people. don't go alone.

#KingdomCome

Help wanted: Desperate sinners transformed by Jesus to start a revolution. Inquire within.

The Tentmaker Blog

Using paid employment for Kingdom ministry

khamneithang

instigating a life, one story at a time...

Joewulf

Learning to believe and journey toward Jesus

SoulThirst Church

Saturating the world with the astounding love and truth of the Savior King

KPB Stevens

Fiction, Nonfiction, and More

Plasso

Spontaneous acts of controlled synesthesia

Missional Church Planting

a misson alive blog

