Our Identity in Christ


I’ve been reading, Gospel Coach: Shepherding Leaders to Glorify God, by Scott Thomas and Tom Wood, and ran into a good list about our identity in Christ (pg. 71-72).  The authors call this our “position in Christ.”  This is who we are positionally before God, though in reality we don’t always or mostly live up to it in the here-and-now.  They say we are positionally children of God, yet we still live like Spiritual orphans.  The authors recommends keeping this list somewhere where you’ll see it regularly and be reminded of who you are in Christ.  Such a list, understood correctly, can lead one to repentance, strengthen them in their Gospel Identity, and call them to live the Christian life.  Here’s the list:

  • Through Christ, I am dead to sin (Romans 6:11)
  • Through Christ, I am spiritually alive (Romans 6:11; 1 Corinthians 15:22)
  • Through Christ, I am forgiven (Colossians 2:13; 1 John 2:12)
  • Through Christ, I am declared righteous (! Corinthians 1:30; 2 Corinthians 5:21)
  • Through Christ, I am a child of God (Romans 8:16; Philippians 2:15)
  • Through Christ, I am God’s possession (Titus 2:14)
  • Through Christ, I am an heir of God (Romans 8:17)
  • Through Christ, I am blessed with all spiritual blessings (Ephesians 1:3)
  • Through Christ, I am a citizen of heaven (Philippians 3:20)
  • Through Christ, I am free from the law (Romans 8:2)
  • Through Christ, I am crucified with him (Galatians 2:20)
  • Through Christ, I am free from the desires of the flesh (Galatians 5:24)
  • Through Christ, I am declared blameless and innocent (Philippians 2:15)
  • Through Christ, I am the light in the world (Matthew 5:14-15; Philippians 2:15)
  • Through Christ, I am victorious over Satan (Luke 10:19)
  • Through Christ, I am set free in Christ from the power of Sin (Colossians 2:11-15)
  • Through Christ, I am secure in him (I Peter  1:3-5)
  • Through Christ, I am at peace with God (Romans 5:1; Philippians 4:6-9)
  • Through Christ, I am loved by God (1 John 4:10)

As you read through this list:

  1. How did these words make you feel?  Are they helpful to remember?  Why?
  2. What do you feel is missing fro their list?  What truth do you cling to shake you from sin, to return you to the Gospel and your identity in Christ, and to motivate you to live the life Christ has set before us?

Image found here

About Ted Torreson

I'm a Husband, Father, Pastor & Church planter

Posted on December 19, 2012, in Gospel-Centered, Meditations and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Great list thanks for sharing. What stood out to me was freedom from sinful desires. It took me a long time to realize that that means those desires can no longer condemn me and that they no longer have any right to rule me.

    It’s kind of like being transferred to a different department at work and your old boss is trying to tell you what to do. He might be controlling and manipulative and make promises that sound appealing, but he has no right. You can still give him control but he has no right to control you.

  2. Dear Ted, I am pleased for your message and much strengthened, please provide me more Teachings. Babu

  3. Such sweet and true reminder of who we are through Christ ! We are sustained by His grace and truth.

Leave a Reply

Pastor James Hein's Blog

Crossing my mind. Mind on the cross.

Family Friendly Faith

May God use these pages to bless, encourage and strengthen you.

Sweet Rains

"He sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust." (Matt. 5:45)

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Faith In Motion

Thoughts on life in light of the Gospel

Provocations & Pantings

Trusting God :: Treasuring Christ :: Triumphing the Gospel

TRANSFORMINGstory

Positively Living Life & Sharing Faith

docshawn

love. serve. lead

multiply

Following Jesus' Command to Make Disciples

JORDAN ELDER

helping others move forward toward Christ, community, and mission

Nate Navarro

love God. love people. don't go alone.

#KingdomCome

Help wanted: Desperate sinners transformed by Jesus to start a revolution. Inquire within.

The Tentmaker Blog

Using paid employment for Kingdom ministry

khamneithang

instigating a life, one story at a time...

Joewulf

Learning to believe and journey toward Jesus

SoulThirst Church

Saturating the world with the astounding love and truth of the Savior King

KPB Stevens

Fiction, Nonfiction, and More

Plasso

Spontaneous acts of controlled synesthesia

Missional Church Planting

a misson alive blog

